top of page

June 10: #20 Drink a gallon of water

Phil: Boy oh boy. I came into this challenge thinking how easy it was going to be. I was quickly picturing what I’d even write in here, about how it felt like an off day, etc. I had work, and I tend to drink a lot of water at work throughout the day. I even calculated about how many refills I’d have to give my water bottle to hit a gallon. Then I walked into the back at work and found out at literally every option for water was OUT OF ORDER. That includes two refrigerators, one water cooler and two water fountains. I have been working at my job for one whole year and never once has this happened. How amazing. I’ll admit, it threw me off big time. I was sitting at our water cooler thing letting it spit out whatever droplets of water it had left, like a guy trying to pass a kidney stone. I drank a ton of water, but I’ll never know if I hit that gallon mark. It hit a point where it got so late that I knew drinking any more water would mean waking up every 2 hours to pee while I was trying to sleep. I might even consider this my first failure of the challenge month...which is incredible considering how confident I was going in. Somehow, it was easier to not complain all day than it was to drink a god damn gallon of water. Wow. You win this one, challenging days.

Bruce: I thought of this challenge because I know for a fact that I never drink as much water (or liquids in general) as I'm supposed to… When I talked to a few people some replied they do this all the time and others even said "I don't think I could drink that much of anything!" and I I think the tasks that get the most ol arising responses are the most telling. I felt throughout the day like I was drinking an excessive/obsessive amount and felt strangely “full” on water. I definitely peed way more than I'm used to, but I suppose it is way more natural as my urine was clear and I felt like an engine that just got an oil change and just generally subtly healthier. Maybe this feeling is placebo and so I think I'm going to keep this as part of a regular routine and see if I feel a difference in the long term! Definitely odd to feel that drinking was such a chore and worried that I would not be able to reach the goal that seems so simple. Certainly found myself a new way to treat my body that is a very easily achievable improvement. A third of the way there!

Tomorrow's challenge: #12 Learn a new word and use it in a conversation or social media post


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page