top of page

June 15: HALFWAY #1 Text someone you haven't interacted with in years

Phil: I was away on a trip for this one and almost missed it but it still ended up serving the purpose I hoped it would. It took me a while to figure out who to even annoy. I wanted it to mean something and not just be a random one off text. I was looking to text someone I actually missed having around. So I texted an old high school friend who I used to play music with. It felt super weird sending a text to someone I haven't really seen or spoken to in forever especially at 11:30 at night but it was awesome. It felt good letting this dude know I secretly admired him from afar and stalked the music he made to this day. He returned the gesture as well. We agreed to meet up for a beer soon which I hope actually happens and isn't one of those “one day” plans. It is always a good feeling to reconnect with people who came into your life and then became distance through natural life things pulling you apart. Cheers to that guy.

Bruce: Strangely this one was more “ difficult” than I would've expected ( maybe I took it more literally than I should) but there are very few people in my contact list that I haven't spoken to in “years”. I understand the idea of this challenge and actually I find it in my natural mode to keep in touch with people. Whenever I think of someone, and I find myself mentally flipping through the Rolodex of people in my life quite often, I will immediately message them or call them. Something about my tendency toward nostalgia or just my gregarious nature just makes me eager to talk to people and catch up with people often I don't feel that it's weird at all whether it is people that I had some kind of a weird problem with (which almost never happens, I rarely experience a prideful need to shut people off) or exes, I generally keep in touch with everybody out of curiosity and affection. I did reach out to a few friends who I don't talk too often enough and got to catch up a little bit which was a good feeling for sure! A friend of mine who has been following these challenges really declared some heartwarming sentiments about Phil and my experiment that she has been following and said that today was her favorite challenge as she took it as an opportunity to regain contact with two people that she hasn't spoken to in a long time for one "reason" or another and she had beautiful re-connections that prompted teary-eyed reactions for her and plans being made! This is exactly why I wanted to do this project and I'm glad that this was a reminder to just keep friendships and connections warm and active. I always find myself newly inspired by what people are up to or given some new recommendation or interesting anecdotes or thought from people who I don't always get to hear from.

Tomorrow's challenge: #19 Take a walk for at least a half hour without headphones


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page