top of page

June 16: #19 Take a walk for at least a half hour without headphones

Phil: A little too easy on this one, given the timing. I was away on a trip in Boston and already planned on using this day to walk around town and explore after checking out of the hotel. See, I drove up to Boston for Thursday night’s Vanna show -- their last hometown gig before breaking up. I’ve been a fan of the band for almost 10 years now. But that aside, I spent Thursday walking the streets of Boston until a downpouring of rain cut the day short. I still got in about two or three hours of walking, though. Walked to lunch, walked to milkshakes, walked to window shopping, etc. I walked to the Apple Store to update this very website while I was away. I also did some browsing for my potential splurge on splurge day...heh. I’m glad I did, because I ate so much food I could have exploded. At least the walking made me not want to. Sometimes, the challenges align with the routine or the plans you already had, and make the reporting a little difficult. This is one of those times for me. But as a consolation to this situation, I am actually going to take ANOTHER walk on a day and at a time when I normally don’t do it, like before I start a work shift one day this week. I will make this right OR ELSE.

Bruce: As Phil and I keep finding "challenging days" has a very strange coincidental sense of humor. The day that we are prompted to walk around listlessly happens to be the first day after a week that I had my car and I spent the whole week exhaustingly wondering around to get to work and from work and to places More than 5+ sweaty, sunburned, cramped, limping, sore, callused-foot hours a day. I have had it with walking at this point and so much of it was done without the phone on anyway… this is all not to mention today was one of few recent days that it rained! I didn't end up walking around until later on at night in the rain-soaked ground under the street lamp glowing fog and mist. I always love these times and they remind me of jazz and storytelling. I used this more aware/technologically unencumbered opportunity with the street to myself to rehearse my song aloud for the studio tomorrow morning and mentally edit The lyrics and map out the cadences that I wanted to use. I found it and then slowly helpful and it was nice to just take a walk before going home, I even got a little bit lost (which I have an annoying problem with) but it was very liberating and nice. When I came up with this challenge I was thinking about how I often do this and get something out of it, but how strange it is to realize that s majority of people can't do anything without being shut away from the world around them and so much of what is great about wandering around is all of the soundscapes and people and experiences in your periphery. Yet another hilariously timed but enriching task to fulfill!

Tomorrow's challenge: #28 “Yes Man Day” say yes to every offer and opportunity. Go where the wind, the suggestions, the conversations and the requests take you


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page