top of page

June 20: #6 Post a picture of yourself online

Phil: I wrote up this challenge because posting selfies was never really something I felt comfortable doing. I never wanted to be one of those people agonizing over how they looked in some photo of themselves they were posting on their Facebook or Instagram. This wasn’t a huge deal to end up doing, though. Still was a bit out of my comfort zone. I ended up posting a picture of a polaroid of me from my recent trip to Boston mentioned a few posts back. I felt comfortable with the way I looked in the photo. I felt like it was me, if that makes any sense. So up it went. I also took this a step further without realizing it the day prior. I’ve been carrying a lot of baggage this past year over the various feelings associated with no longer being part of my old punk band. I’ve missed playing, and missed my friends. I’ve also had a lot of pent up resentment. I made another Instagram post yesterday coming clean of all that and being a little more vulnerable than I’m used to. It’s out there now. I feel like I’m shaking it off finally. Anyway, simple challenge deserves a simple post. I’ll end here.

Bruce: In an age of social media and self indulgence it's funny to make this a challenge but it seems neither Phil nor I feel comfortable posting pictures. I don't often do that unless I'm promoting things. Without getting too much into posting a “selfie”, it felt good to just feel okay with letting go of the shyness or just presenting oneself unselfconsciously. Maybe it's alright to show your face here and there?!

Tomorrow's challenge: #25 Invite a friend to eat or hang with you that day. (Make and participate in plans)


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page