top of page

June 23: #26 Prepare a meal for yourself or others

Phil: This is something I pretty much never do. I haven’t really used my kitchen since moving into my new apartment in March, and I’m actually glad this challenge fell on the day that it did because it was on a day when I am usually with my girlfriend and habitually go out and spend money on a big lunch somewhere before work. Instead, I ventured to the grocery store, bought some stuff, brought it back and made my lunch instead. Now, I’m no cook. And what I “made” was just sandwiches using various deli items and some chips, but it was still a very welcome change. The whole point of this is to stray from the routine, and this is exactly what I did. Instead of going out, walking to get lunch, spending the money, feeling overly full and having no more cash, I spent the afternoon before my “Monday” at work began having a peaceful...air conditioned...lunch inside. I didn’t over-eat like I usually do when I go out to eat and went to work feeling better both mentally and physically. I suppose that certain challenges affect us differently depending on who we are, and this one was pretty big for me. And I didn’t write this challenge either. So thanks to Bruce on that one -- this will be something I try to do much more often.

Bruce: I sort of copped out of this one, I only ate one meal today and the closest thing I made close to a meal today was microwaving leftovers at my parents’ house for dinner late at night. What can I say? Money’s been tight. (Someone pay us to do this project!). Making food at home is often much tastier, healthier and cheaper than eating food out and paying for the convenience of food elsewhere. Worth noting. This post was brought to you by Blue Apron…

Tomorrow's challenge: #11 Go to bed an hour later than you normally would


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page