top of page

June 26: #14 Save as much money in one day as possible

Phil: You have to pay attention to the language in this one. It’s SAVE as much money as possible. Which does not necessarily mean MAKE as much money as possible, although that factors into it. It also does not say to SPEND NO MONEY all day. (Although, that would be an interesting challenge as well.) I say this, because I found myself mentally jumping from one of those misinterpretations to another throughout the day. The happy medium, I found, was when I just scrutinized any money-spending decisions I would have made throughout the day. For example, instead of going out for a morning beverage like a cup of tea or something, I just used what I had at home to make one there. I used what ingredients I had at home to make my lunch and dinner for work instead of being lazy and spending money. I finally forced myself to go off and sell my old laptop that’s been collecting dust for a week for a whopping $85. I also coordinated having my car accessible upon my return to Long Island later tonight, since I planned on taking the LIRR home after work to visit family for my “weekend,” thus saving me an Uber trip. I also avoided any of those impulse buys I make every day at work that signify how bored I am...like a vending machine snack or a quick bite that’s actually just an excuse to go for a walk outside. (Just go for a walk instead…) I didn’t NOT spend money today. I had to buy my train ticket. I celebrated it being “Friday night” for me tonight by buying myself a drink. But I saved, too. Pay more attention to what you spend your money on and find little blips of savings throughout the day. View every day as a means to bring in as much as you can. There are options all around you. I liked this challenge -- it’s ended up being one of my favorites and most educating, right up there with not complaining and realizing how fucking addicted to swearing I am.

Bruce: This was an enlightening one since I'm so bad with money and have had none lately, this one is a good lesson. Continuing Challenging Day’s serendipitous sense of humor, a credit card that I signed up for last week out of desperation. I did use it to pay off a ticket, and I did drive my car a little, but I also canceled my ITunes Music account that I don't need. I invited a friend over to eat, I ate food that I made at home and sold two of my graphic novels for 20$. I walked to my gym and enjoyed the weather, made no unnecessary purchases and ate only free food. I went to a bar on my way home and just listened to music without getting any drink or food. Not having money definitely helped with this one, but if it was an important reminder and lesson.

Tomorrow's challenge: #3 Have a conversation with a stranger


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page