top of page

June 28: #24 See live music performed

Phil: Bruce and I tried to find some live music in the early evening hours and just couldn’t seem to find anything. We were in the heart of Patchogue, which is a vibrant downtown, but we were likely just a touch too early. So that plan was squashed. I didn’t realize how hard it was to find live music without actively seeking it or making yourself available for a specific time or place. I’ll have to be lazy and default my fulfillment of this challenge to the fact that I met up with my longtime musical companion Pete to write some new songs for our band tonight. The live music I watched was him performing our new material, and the playback of our demo recordings of said material. Writing is cathartic and is the main reason I even consider coming back to Long Island so often since moving to the city. I’ll take this any day.

Bruce: As Phil will tell you, he and I met up for the first time during challenging days, we wandered around the town of Patchogue wandering into cafés and bars and music venues trying to find live music but I guess it was too early because it was to no avail, I ended up using the opportunity to stop in at one of my favorite venues of all time that I have performed at more than any other venue and I've seen probably more shows there than most other venues combined and really enjoyed my time at the velvet lounge. It resulted in me reconnecting with friends who were performing there doing some improvisational jamming and some excellent lamb samosas and the musical inspiration. Going there was a real reminder of what I have been missing lately and it also resulted in me booking two events for July so that was very productive! Improvisational music is so inspiring to me and I got to watch my friend John on the drums which was encouraging and mystifying all at the same time. There is so much live music around us on Long Island we are spoiled like that and I'm sure that the world would be an even better place if that was even more music than we are spoiled with to enjoy to bring us together. These Wednesday night improv things happen weekly and so in addition to performing at one in two weeks for my YouTube series "Spontaneous Sundays with AllOne”

Tomorrow's challenge: #4 Eat something you've never tried before


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page