top of page

June 29: #4 Eat something you've never tried before

Phil: After work, I wasn’t even sure where to go to knock this one off the list. I ended up at this fancy brand new Whole Foods on 6th Avenue in Manhattan. I chose this spot because it has this huge offering of different foods buffet style. So I was just running up and down the aisles, scooping a little bit of this and that of things I never had before. Foods I can barely even remember well enough to describe here. Some rice things, a few different chicken items from various cultures and backgrounds, some quinoa, etc. Yes, I have never had quinoa. Being that I’m such a picky eater, this challenge was easy to nail because it just meant NOT eating the few things I actually eat. I’m going to go back there one of these days to re-up on my favorite parts of that dish and actually remember what the hell it was.

Bruce: If today taught me anything it's that I have a lot of friends that live far away from me and many of them made recommendations of places that were pretty out of reach. I also learned that I have had many many kinds of food which is sort of a comfort I suppose!? My friend Steven and I went to a café spot in Port Jefferson after stopping into three different places when deciding that nothing on the menu was personally unprecedented despite the food smelling amazing. From his recommendation at Locals, I ended up getting a turmeric latte, which was delicious and made me feel pretty well taken care of bodily speaking! We then swooped into Tigerlily and although I have had veggie burgers before I've never had their veggie burgers and that is sort of the thing and I have to say it was fantastic, later when I went to the gym I tried an RX bar that my roommate always gets that I've never tried and also some weird coconut drink with protein in it which wasn't all that great but it's fun to think in terms of "I need to eat something where I am completely unsure of what to expect” since people so often get caught up in the familiar and shy away from any other choices outside of their typical expectations.

Tomorrow's challenge: #18 Be more tacit, or talk succinctly


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page