top of page

June 30: #18 Be more tacit, or talk succinctly

Phil: This one was pretty easy for me. I’m not one for speaking in long phrases out in public, or at work. I like to keep it brief and to the point. It’s like this was the inverse of me having to call three people on that day the challenge was told me to do so. This one, I was off the hook. Now I can be even more to the point. That is, after all, what I’ve been trying to put into my writing ever since day one.

Bruce: If texting is included in this challenge I failed pretty clearly. I made this challenge because as anyone will tell you I am verbose and have a tendency to trail off on my need to for tangents as well as a “need” to explain myself or give detail and all of my ideas or thoughts with each response. I was talking with a friend recently about the value of "comfortable silence" and how it's an ideal scenario that I romanticize and treasure because I am uncomfortable with the quiet space as though if I'm not filling it with interaction it somehow means that I'm not entertaining and therefore not connecting with the person in my company and that reflects poorly on me or us. “Comfortable silence” it's something I value because not only would indicate that I am trusting enough with the other person that I don't think that are quiet reflects anything negative and I have overcome that obstacle but also because it's something I rarely experience and need to work on. As far as talking out loud I was probably a little more pithy than usual but admittedly it was not easy. Once we have decided that a particular style of communication is best for us and we have locked into the routine of that it feels almost uncomfortable to offer something different, I found myself thinking that I was cheating other people or was being a jerk by being more tacit. Challenging Days’ "talk to a stranger" actually resulted in a suitor and so I stopped in for lunch where she works and spoke with her for a while. A friend of mine on the phone was seeking advice and brief responses did not feel just or fair… but then maybe long-winded responses aren't preferred!? This was definitely a learning experience for me. Admittedly I am writing up this review/report the day after this challenge, so don't scold me for having a long entry!


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page