top of page

June 14: #22 Eat something you’ve never tried before

Phil: I’ve never eaten Banh Mi and spring rolls before. Laura and I went to this bar off the beaten path in Brooklyn last night and I just let her order, since she knows what she’s talking about with that stuff and I don’t. I was really surprised by how much I liked both of those things. The tofu banh mi was spicy and full of flavor. The spring roll was great, especially with the soy suace it came with. I am sitting here wishing I had another plate now. This one can go down as a big success because I’ve added a food to my list that was in desperate need for some variety. Food is one area I really lack in terms of diversity, so it felt good to know there was something new for me to explore and learn about and enjoy, at that.

Bruce: I tried to think of this as an all day experience, a mantra for munching. When I arrived at Relish in Kings Park for breakfast (an excellent eatery is recommend to anyone) I was searching my mind to conjure up breakfast foods I was unfamiliar with. Pouring over the delectable menu I ended up nearly ordering a seemingly exotic Angus beef pot roast hash but then found two pancake items I never tried. Get this folks: Sweet Potato pancakes with cinnamon maple walnut butter Or Ricotta pancakes with assorted berries. How to choose? Luckily the waitress let me order one pancake of each as though it were one stack! Wow… Both were believable and being that they were the size of monster truck tires, I took plenty home. Being in the adventurous spirit I also put pancake syrup in my black coffee (So delicious). The only failure of the morning was trying a maple bacon milkshake, which was essentially a vanilla milkshake freckled with bacon crunchies that tasted like the smell of dog food. I took a few sips and spoonfuls to be a good sport but ended up forfeiting. For lunch I was on my way to work (challenging days has a great way of making me late to that by the way) and stopped at a newly opened “Poke Bowl” joint. They are sort of chipotle or Subway style set up but for sushi contents in bowls or burritos. I love me some sushi and ordered a “Cosmo bowl“ among the bustling crowd. Sticky rice, cucumbers, pickled carrots (a favorite), grape tomatoes, sweet corn, spicy tuna, crab, edamame and spicy mayo. For a steep $14 I was incensed initially, but it took me about a half hour to eat and I was full for the rest of the evening in that light satisfactory way that seems exclusive to sushi. I Chased it down with an odd coconut aloe drink. Get yourself a Poke Bowl soon if you’re a sushi fan (and like the physical experience of eating a salad).After being chastised by my friend Dani that I really wasn’t going all out with the dating spirit of challenge - that I’ve had pancakes and sushi before and these were cowardly cop outs- I enlisted my generous friend Janine’s help with dinner. She decided to make a traditional vegetarian friendly Pakistani dish she grew up with called mjudara comprised of spices typically found in middle eastern cuisine, lentils, carmelized onions, rice and a traditional salad. Delicious. Strange new consistencies and flavors I wouldn’t normally have (thanks Janine!). All in all I went to bed with a full stomach and new tastes and flavors. Cheers challenging days!

Tomorrow's challenge: #20 Stand up for yourself/be more confrontational if you feel wronged/desire to speak up


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page