top of page

June 15: #20 Stand up for yourself/be more confrontational if you feel wronged/desire to speak up

Phil: I actually had a doctor appointment booked for Monday, but used this challenge as a prompt to listen to my body and force myself to the doctor today instead. It was really testing because I’m a very routine-oriented person. I really cherish the few things I do every morning on my own time to keep myself centered like work out or meditate or something, and I sacrificed all of that to head right to the doctor. At the very least, I now have the peace knowing that I am doing what I can to figure out what the hell has been ailing me the last few weeks. Every doctor’s trip (this was number three) is one step closer to resolution. The upside is this will probably make living my life tomorrow, and Sunday, a lot easier than if I waited for Monday. I stood up for myself in that regard, but also paid attention to other parts of my daily life where I worry too much about others or neglect my own boundaries. The same subject actually came up during a reiki session last week, where I was told as much.

Bruce: I chose this task today because in my codependent nature I have a lot of trouble with excessive people pleasing and avoiding confrontation but interestingly there weren’t a lot of reasonable scenarios where I actually needed to step in or speak up or defend myself. In the spirit of the task I did try to be more succinct confident when it came to voicing my needs or thoughts and not tip toe around these things for fear of being too forthright or assertive, and in the studio and talking to collaborators and booking people throughout the day, I found it always met with appreciation and it to be a more direct and effective approach to communicating.

Tomorrow's challenge: #23 Book your next tattoo appointment (try to get it today)


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page