top of page

June 21: #2 Go to some sort of museum

Phil: I saw that the woman I follow online who posts daily yoga videos was at the Brooklyn Museum on this day. She’s from Texas. So go figure. I didn’t go, thanks to my weird life and schedule. I did see a little podcast talk for a podcast I follow, thanks to a friend who had a spare ticket for a little bit. And being in that kind of environment was enriching enough -- so it’s not like I totally failed here.

Bruce: I went to the Long Island Museum in Stony Brook. The beautiful place boasts a full spread of displays from historical vehicles to modern sculptures, an old schoolhouse and structures and stories instructing the visitors of the lifestyles in the 1800’s from art to agriculture to school and more! They had an armada of carriages (well over 100!), a beautiful “Revolution In Printmaking” art history exhibit showing lithographs, paintings and collages and styles across the last 5 decades. I got to read about school house life in the 1800s, see rusty rustic equipment, wander a beautiful property with sculptures from the 70s and a functioning NYC horse fountain from the 1850s (akin to a gas station in its prudence for refueling transportation when horsepower was a literal term!). It was a good two hour adventure that was informative, tranquil, fascinating and beautiful. All in a place I pass by frequently and take for granted!

Tomorrow's challenge: #18 Get a haircut (or schedule one)


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page