top of page

June 22: #18 Get a haircut (or schedule one)

Phil: I wanted to do this before my trip to Chicago next week anyway. But of course, my regular guy isn’t around this week. Challenging Days forced me to book an appointment at another shop in Brooklyn and do the ever-uncomfortable and risky “new guy” haircut thing. Let’s see what this new shop has to offer -- there’s another one somewhat nearby that I tried visiting last year but it ended up being too busy for me to get squeezed in before work. Take two, coming up this week before I head to Chicago.

Bruce: I love the barbershop. I go to sit tacitly and relax like these hole-in-the-Wall are anachronistic meditation centers imagined by Norman Rockwell’s paintbrush and Americana eye . I especially enjoy the ones with primarily gruff-voiced elderly men swapping war stories (both literal and figurative). The array of accents telling jokes and sports commentary on the obligatory old television that play in a melody that swift snips and hive-like electric shavers are percussion to. The smell of cologne and aftershave, the shaving cream and the blue disinfectant are a redolent bouquet of nostalgia. But without a budget today, I did not get my ears lowered. Who makes haircut appointments ?!

Tomorrow's challenge: #31 Speak/say as little as possible


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page