top of page

June 28: #29 Share something new that you made on all your social media

Phil: I didn’t do this, on account of my vacation, but I did do it a few days later. Ironically, this fell at a time when I was working on changing my perspective on how I relate to music in my life, so it was super helpful to reflect on everything I had done up to this point.

Bruce: Every day, I make a one panel comic called DUGGS that has little witty quips and observations, so I put that online which is customary. That still left more novel things to be released. My studio equipment at home is currently on the fritz so I ended up digging through the archives to find a song that I made with my wildly talented friend Austin Sandick in 2014. It’s a darkly, funny but also tragic cautionary tale about a pothead kid whose sedentary, lethargic and privileged nature ends up being his ruin when he spontaneously combusts. It’s also about government conspiracy, the grief of a family and the weird horrors of life that we cannot explain. The story/song is called “Sloth” and you can listen here: www.allonevoice.bandcamp.com/track/sloth ! I found a grim picture online to accompany this song, although I would normally love to work with an artist or photographer that I know, I had to work on a tight schedule. This song has been sitting around more or less finished for a few years now simply because I tend to compartmentalize projects into themes and I didn’t feel the other songs from this project were done yet. In reality I was probably just stifling myself and my publicly enjoyed body-of-work. It was a nice too, when, as soon as I made a post that I was releasing a song within a hour or two, 50 people responded enthusiastically. This was a good reminder that I have a following that wants to hear/see creations from me and doing things like holding back is just me getting in my own way and keeping these generous listening people from enjoying new work!

Tomorrow's challenge: #10 Spend as little time indoors as you can


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page