top of page

June 29: #10 Spend as little time indoors as you can

Phil: I actually did this one, despite being on vacation. Laura and I walked all around Chicago. We walked trails, outside, public transit routes, the works. We walked around Wrigley Field. We bar hopped. We didn’t stop walking. It was a heat wave. I think the first one in that area for this season. I did a lot of sweating. We walked about 26,000 steps one of the days. Check.

Bruce: Now I will admit it took me a little while to get outside and get my day started and I didn’t do anything extreme like do everything I could to be outside as much as possible however this prompt still kept in my head to not take the beautiful day for granted. Funny enough a lot of people were nervous about this challenge because Long Island is in the fetal stages of a heat wave it would seem. I spent An hour or so favoring eating breakfast on my porch which I don’t always do and made a companion of a squirrel that I shared my peanut butter and honey with and we ate together, an unlikely pairing! I worked outdoors for several hours in the heat but it was gratifying to work and sweat and imbibe the sun. Even simply opening a window in my house changes the smell of the rooms within minutes, outdoor fragrances wafting in on the mild breeze migrating in influencing the entire house decoratively and restoratively. I find that just being in the house sometimes I take for granted that it’s just stale air. I read a book on the porch outside the café for an hour or so with a cold drink and it was so peaceful and wonderful having some time to myself like that. Definitely a good weather day to do it!

Tomorrow's challenge: #12 Contribute to a crowd-funding campaign


Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page